Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Home  >  Features  >  ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1 - A MightyVille Advance Review

ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

4.5

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics Writer: Alex de Campi Penciller: Fernando Ruiz Inker: Rich Koslowski Colorist: Jason Millet 

It's always an interesting task to crossover Archie, America's longest running PG high school sitcom, with an R-Rated property.  You have to bring Archie's sensibilities up just enough to make them PG-13 without going too far and also pull down a property like Predator from it's R-rated action and violence so that they can both meet somewhere in the middle.  And somehow, Alex de Campi and the rest of the creative team here, really nail all parts in this first issue.


ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

The book is quintessential Archie.  The team from Riverdale is trying to decide where to take their spring break vacation, when they luck into an opportunity that will take them away from their regular mundane choices, and, as luck would have it, allow them to shove it in the faces of their counterparts from the rich private school.  From there everything is as normal - the group goes through lots of contests, some for the yearbook, some for personal bests, some against entire plates of waffles, basically everything you knew about Archie.  Like I said earlier, it does go a little more mature than most Archie stories, there's a much more overt sexuality at play here and the Betty/Veronica fight leads to much torn clothes and blood, but not too much.  The line has been moved but clearly not too much.  

The Predator portions likewise nail all the tropes of a classic Predator story.  He arrives and moves silently in the background.  He allows things to just take place without causing too much trouble.  He eliminates the least cared about characters first (and in this instance, off panel as to maintain the PG-13 veneer). They even throw in early cameos, that act as great fan service to Predator fans.  And even best of all, Predator isn't diminished at all by the more Archie-style artwork.  This book, if nothing else, proves that bloody skeletons can look scary no matter who is drawing them in whatever style they want.

 

ARCHIE VS. PREDATOR #1

 

This book is a great start to the series and will appeal to fans of Archie, Predator, and even Archie haters who want to see the gang dismembered.  It's just a seriously fun read.

 

More Reviews on MightyVille:

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 18, 2015

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 11, 2015

Number One Bullet Reviews: February 4, 2015

 

Comments (0)
Only registered users can write comments!
 

Mighty Poll

Which New #1 this week are you most excited about?

DARK KNIGHTS RISING: THE WILD HUNT #1 (DC Comics) - 5.3%
MISTER MIRACLE DIRECTORS CUT #1 (DC Comics) - 31.6%
SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL/WONDER WOMAN SPECIAL #1 (DC Comics) - 15.8%
SIDEWAYS #1 (DC Comics) - 15.8%
DEATH OF LOVE #1 (Image Comics) - 5.3%
KICK-ASS #1 (Image Comics) - 5.3%
STAR WARS THRAWN #1 (Marvel Comics) - 5.3%
ATHENA VOLTAIRE 2018 ONGOING #1 (Action Lab Entertainment) - 5.3%
BABY BADASS #1 (Action Lab - Red Zone) - 5.3%
BLACK BETTY #1 (Action Lab - Danger Zone) - 0%
CHARISMAGIC VOL 03 #1 (Aspen MLT) - 0%
COLD WAR #1 (Aftershock Comics) - 0%
REGULAR SHOW 2018 SPECIAL #1 (BOOM! Studios) - 0%
XENA #1 (Dynamite Entertainment) - 0%
The voting for this poll has ended

Be Our Friend

Mighty Tweets

Mightyville CORPUS ANTHOLOGY HIGHLIGHTS REALITIES OF LIVING WITH ILLNESS https://t.co/FLmXm9KWcK #mightyville #comics #comicbooks
Mightyville RT @Mightyville: Hey Folks! Here's our newest Featured Kickstarter project: Corpus: A Comic Anthology of Bodily Ailments. Created... https:…

The Geek Speak Show

Comic Shop Locator

Main Menu

(C) 2016 MightyVille Enterprises. All rights reserved.